Where the heck is the Christmas spirit?

Standard

50ish, rain..NO Christmsas decorations… I’m just not feeling it. At all.

If you know me then you will know that I am not a very Christmassy person. I think I used to be..but I lost it a LONG time ago. Working retail didn’t help.

Screw that “giving” stuff either…not getting cool presents..that doesn’t help either. I don’t think I’ve received an awesome Christmas gift in 30 years. I think Barbie’s townhouse. Jeremy and I have never give each other gifts..we just buy something nice and share. This year we are getting the Playstation 3 (blu ray player included) and a marble/iron bakers rack in the kitchen. We have both already. Woo hoo.

I know, I hate to be a Debbie Downer but I’m not really sure how to turn the frown upside down and give a rat’s ass about Christmas. Any suggestions?

Christmas music is driving me crazy..and I watched Rudoph and Drake and Josh’s Christmas special… I’ve purchased my gifts…BAH HUMBUB

10 responses »

  1. I don’t give a shit about the holidays either. Why don’t we Bah-Humbug everyone who passes by our office.

    Did you see my secret santa gift?

    Haha. I must have a guy. Your gift was way better.

  2. I’m not into it either. I hate the music, hate the crowds, hate the high expectations and crushing reality.

    However, I do like giving presents to people that make them happy. I also do this at birthdays and sometimes “just because.”

    Believe me, if it wasn’t for Maddy, I would be hiding somewhere until this was all over. 🙂

  3. Christmas just isn’t the same now days. It’s a shame. I can’t stand the crowds and the music (maybe because they start playing the music right after Halloween!). It’s all just a hassle. I think something that could help would be to have a rum and eggnog, sit by a fire and reeeeelax!

  4. Strangely, this is the first year in a long time when I actually feel the spirit. Beats the heck out of me why. This is also the first year in a long time I’ve been working in retail. I’m sure it’s just a coincidence. 😉
    No, really, maybe you should try just doing something nice for something else. Not because they expect it, but just because. Then you feel good, they feel good, and you get to experience what it should all be about. 😉

  5. Ok…WTF? Rudolf Drake & Josh? SERIOUSLY?

    UGH!!

    I’m feelin’ ya honey. My tree isn’t even up. I’m sure my son is holding out hope but I’m so not there yet.

  6. I love Christmas. I love the gift giving and also the spiritual part.
    I don’t get much back in the way of gifts, but then I buy what I want all year long.
    Put on some Christmas music, and have a glass of wine!

  7. I’m feeling a bit bah humbug-ish this year. We don’t really have a budget for spending much this year, and the weather has been nuts.

    I’m thinking chocolate may be in order.

  8. I think everyone has the holiday duldrums this year. And for me, that means leaving some of the ornaments in the box rather than insisting that every single one be put on the tree lest they feel left out. Could it be the hard year, failing economy, etc.? Who knows. Thank goodness I posted today. I had no clue bossy would be posting my pic. We took that at Sea World. Not the most flattering picture of me as it was humid as hell, but a fun picture and the boys loved it.

Leave a Reply

