I only play a doctor on my blog

Standard

First off.. if you have been around here for a while you will know there are repeat things I talk about.. Aruba, my mother, reading, TV, movies, my eyeballs and ALS. My friend Jim was diagnosed w/ the stupid disease in 2001 and died a couple years later. He was 41..the age I am now. Pisses me off. It’s a horrible horrible disease.

Here is a good cause.. Save Lori’s House. This writer is trying to save her house for her son’s sake. ALS sucks.. If you would like to learn more about the disease that Kills your body while your mind watches it happen.. go here and find your local chapter. Get involved.

Now on to me. I went to the eye doctor today. The stupid eye disease I have is so rare it wasn’t on Wikipedia. It’s called Aidies Tonic Pupil. You know when you go to the eye doctor and they dialate your pupil? Well mine is like that ALL THE TIME. 🙂 Along with the stupid disease my vision is changing w/ old age. When I was 39 I had 20/20 vision.. I went to a local university and saw the student doctors. Not much cheaper, but I liked the people. I got some really cute Coach frames and will have bifocals. They are using some new anti-glare technology on the lenses. I’ve also been instructed that I need to turn off the fluorescent light in my office and get a floor lamp.
The student I saw was very excited because he was going to be able to report on my case tomorrow during rounds. I’m all unique like that.
They did tons of exams. Guess what? I don’t have any close range depth perception. THAT would be why I run into things and get bruised all to hell. I found this out when they did this 3-D test. I couldn’t see the 3D. Now I must tell you that when I’m in the theater I can…so large and far away I’m OK.. close up, not so much.

So there you go…Day has FLOWN by…gotta finish up some work….
🙂
I’ll take a picture when I get my new glasses.

9 responses »

  1. Aidies Tonic Pupil?

    Sounds like a mixed drink.

    I kid. I’m sorry that you are going through this. But cute frames in exchange? That’s a plus. Can’t wait to see them.

  2. Hopefully it’s correctable! Sorry you’re having such issues with your eyes. I have horrible vision, but nothing like what you’re going through.

    Can’t wait to see the new glasses!

    Nope, not correctable..No idea how/why I got the disease and there is no cure.. FUN..I’ll try to find a link to my glasses.

  3. I don’t want to be intrusive, but I have a few questions r/t the Aides Tonic Pupil. I am 42 years old and was diagnosed a month ago. I have worn corrective lenses since the 2nd grade so not worried about glasses. However, I experience severe pain behind the affected eye as well as around my brow. Below my eye I have intermittent numbness and tingling. My eye MD indicates that pain is usually not associated with Aides Tonic Pupil. Do you experience pain, numbness or blurred vision. I am considering a second opinion?

Leave a Reply

