I’m gonna Rock N Roll all night

Standard

No..I’m not going clubbing. We’re talking about concerts! I was thinking about it cause the town is a twitter over Springsteen. Saturday there is a baseball game, football game and the concert in out little downtown. What does that mean? sucky traffic.

Concerts in general are expensive. Tickets, parking, food, drinks…so I went through a stage where I never went. Recently we debated over Neil Diamond (again) or the BMW Classic…we’re doing the Golf.

So..in your lifetime, what concerts have you been to?

My list here is NOT in chronological order..cause my 20’s are a little fuzzy.

  • The Police. This WAS my first concert. I was 15 I believe. My friends and I walked to the Checkerdome. We had cups of orange soda w/ vodka from Burger Chef. Delinquents
  • LoverBoy . Keep It Up. I can’t believe I remember the concert name.
  • Billy Joel. I will not add him a bunch of times but I have seen every Billy Joel concert except for one in the last 25 or so years.
  • Billy Squire. AWESOME. I went w/ my friend D. I remember her dad dropped us off and picked us up cuz they were afraid the hoosier/redneck boys would get us.
  • Duran Duran at the Keil Opera House. This was when Rio came out. 1983 or 1984..damn I loved John.
  • Men At Work. I went on a date and smoked a joint.
  • Joan Jett actaully opened for them. She was better than them.
  • Squeeze. I don’t remember who they opened for but they were fricking awesome.
  • Jimmy Buffet…8 million times. I was a big Parrot Head back in the day.
  • INXS.. the original. Awesome.
  • Harry Connick Jr
  • Little Riverband
  • Ace of Base (won tickets on a radio call in show)
  • Chicago
  • Van Halen.. both ways
  • Cheap Trick
  • Michael McDonald
  • Gwen Stefani
  • Akon
  • Neil Diamond
  • Eagles w/ Glenn Fogarty
  • Daughtry
  • The American Idol Concerts
  • Barry Mannilow – a date took me and I thought it was so gay.. I look back and it was awesome.

I have to tell you. I’ve been sitting here now w/ a major brain freeze. I went to tons more and can’t remember. See that is the problem when you drink and go to concerts..

  • Cake..omg awesome
  • Beach Boys (who hasn’t?)
  • Billy Joel/Elton John. The dueling piano’s at Busch Stadium. AWESOME!
  • Rick Springfield
  • Bon Jovi
  • The Fixx
  • The Cars
  • Hall and Oats
  • Billy Idol
  • They Might Be Giants
  • Violent Femmes
  • Steppenwolf
  • Ramones
  • 311
  • The Urge
  • Blink 182
  • Mighty Mighty Bosstones
  • Third Eye Blind

Alot of those cool 90’s bands were due to Pointfest. I went to quite a few in the 90’s. I’m reading the lists of band going…uh, I don’t remember No Doubt..but I know I was there, do I count it?

OK…you have to take into consideration that I’m 41 years old.  I have to say I was invited to Shaun Cassidy but mom wouldn’t let me go, she said I was too young. My friends went to Prince but my mom wouldn’t let me go.

What concerts have you seen? Who do you want to see?

I would like to see Bette Midler, Green Day, Cold Play…guess that’s it.

17 responses »

  1. Oh man, I LOVE THE URGE. What ever happened to them? A great ST. Louis band.

    You have been to a lot of concerts. I have been to about 15 TOTAL concerts, but man of them had several acts. Grateful Dead concerts and Jimmy Buffet rank up there in the most fun.

    KEEP BELIEVING
    *********************************
    I wish I knew…. I actually think that there is one guy doing a solo gig around St Louis. My favorite though was The Newsboys that used to play at Kennedy’s.. (not the Christian band)

  2. Wow, and I thought I’d been to a lot of concerts! I’ll have to start making a list myself.

    (I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t really have anything to do with it. I’m white, female, and alone, that seems to be enough. The night with the cars pulling over was cool and I was covered from ankles to neck.)

  3. You have seen a LOT of concerts! I have seen TWO. Yep only two! And they really don’t even coun’t because they were awful. You may even laugh.

    1. Carmen (Christian singer, back in the late 80’s early 90’s)
    2. RICKY MARTIN. haha I know right? He was big when I was like 13 and I got invited, so I went. He did look pretty fine “shakin’ his bon bon” on stage 🙂 Great, now that song is stuck in my head.
    3. Soon to add JOURNEY to my list. I’m going to Cincinnati in 2 weeks for the concert. Heart and Cheaptrick are opening for them. It’s goin to be INSANE! Excited isn’t even the word for what I am.

    I think we have the same taste in music. I love most of those bands you named. Except Barry Mannilow…totally not my thing. haha

    Nice Post!

  4. Wow, you’ve been to a LOT of concerts.

    We went to Wilco just last night and it was so, so good. Oh ma gawd. In fact, I just blogged about it.

    Let’s see….I’ve been to Lyle Lovett, Alison Krauss, Dave Grisman, Greatful Dead (uuggh, not by choice, friends dragged me and I went to watch the freak show), Cracker, REM, Soul Asylum, Husker Du, Neil Young, Flaming Lips, Harry Connick Jr. (twice) and pretty much every grunge/punk band that played in Seattle in the mid 80s…..including Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Mud Honey, Big Black etc.

    First concert ever: Cheap Trick. Yeah. I’m OLD.

  5. It’s been sooooo long since I’ve been to a concert… I did see REO Speedwagon, Van Halen (w/DLR), Journey… I would love to see Dave Matthews, Cold Play, or Pearl Jam.

  6. It’s been eons since I’ve been to a concert. They’ve become so big with so many distractions.
    I saw Neil Diamond at the small, intimate Greek Theatre twice, and once at the Forum (an example of a venue too big)

    I saw the following concerts at the Orange County Fair when the concerts were free
    The Beach Boys
    Sonny & Cher
    Linda Ronstadt

    Now I turn on my MP3, and just close my eyes and pretend I’m in the front row .
    ****************
    VERY jealous of Sonny & Cher

  7. I’ve been to more concerts than I can count, but some highlights: Public Enemy and Anthrax, Run-DMC, Peter Gabriel. And the BEST was when I happened to get an inside tip and snag one of only 300 tickets when the Rolling Stones played a small, unannounced club date in Chicago at the Double Door. That was pretty much the highlight.
    **************
    Stones deal…tre cool!!
    Peter Gabriel would have been Awesome!!!

  8. Holy concerts Batman! That’s quite a list. I’d list mine, but it’s a bit shameful…and quite short. I can probably count them all on 1 hand. And they maybe, could, probably, be all boy bands.

    *hangs head in shame*

  9. There is no way I could begin to list all the concerts I have been to. But I can tell you two things 1) My first was Bon Jovi (with Cinderella opening) and 2) I saw more live music in 1991 than I have in the last 10 years all put together.

Leave a Reply

