Why I am Not a Rock Star Blogger

Standard

Rock Star Bloggers have been quite the talk lately on the Internet. Some of my favorite bloggers and people on twitter have been making comments ever since the big Blogher convention (that I did not attend)   (maybe next year)

So…do you aspire or dream of becoming a rock star blogger??

I think it would be alot of work first off and I’m a bit too lazy to try that hard. Then there is the whole thing about me being a very poor writer and speller. (can I blame the Catholic schools or is it my lack of hard work?)  I see bloggers out there that are doing everything to whore their sites and get more readers. Is it for popularity? Money from ads (one of these days I’ll get some) or is it their break into a serious career?  I of course do not blog for a living. I blog pretty much for myself. I would think by the topics of my posts that you would realize that. I talk about my bathroom, crazy mom and to do lists…along w/ some random book and tv stuff. I do not have the type of blog posts that web sites would crawl to and beg me to “guest post”… I’m not talking about when you go on vacation and ask me to guest post (biddy and dolce did once)

I read some rock star blogs.. Pioneer Woman/Dooce/Bossy  for three.. you know where you are 1 of 1000 and don’t feel the need to comment cause what’s the difference.  Then there are people that SHOULD be considered Rock Star but not enough people know about them yet, kind of like The Jason Show…but he’s getting there…what him be a guest speaker at blogher next year, that is my prediction. Then there is Robyn at Pocket Aces… there are only 2 people that comment on her blog.. WHY? She is SO Rock Star material. (I don’t feel like linking today….these people are all on my blogroll)

There are a few bloggers that I don’t read anymore, and it’s kind of sad. You know you come here and leave a comment you KNOW I’m reading your blog too..and it’s a bloggy friendship. I’ve found a few of those Rock Star blogger wanna be’s that just got too big for their britches. Once they became big enough for some recognition they quit reading blogs or leaving comments…cause they were writing for this blog and that blog. I have to tell you the biggest turn off for me is “I’m not here today check me out at this blog”… I never click over…unless you are doing a guest post for someone on vacation, not one of those parenting blogs..cause you know what? I’m a step mom …I already know everything 🙂

You following my rant and rave at all? I’m not naming names cause you know what, some of the people that I consider Rock Star may be no body’s to you..or they may be your best buddy.

Maybe I’m still a little bitter about that ad site. I don’t remember my name..but back when I was still on blogger I signed up for this site where you can pick items to talk or advertise. Stuff like you could get $8 if you talk about a laundry detergent or a website… I LOVE doing surveys and stuff and thought that would be something fun to add to my blog, especially since I was on a waiting list at blogher. The corporation turned me down. They said that my blog had too many run on sentences, misspelled words and not a theme. OMG asswipes…it’s like they told me my brain was dysfunctional. Cause that’s how I think..in run on sentences that are spelled the way they sound with lots of …. dots….  Even since then I have hung my hat on the idea of ever becoming a rock star blogger. I think it would suck to no appreciate every single person that reads my blog.

I have to tell you…speaking of Rock Star bloggers…you know who does it SO well… Sandy at Momisodes. She has like 40 plus people that comment on her blog and she always comes here a couple times a week at least and leaves me a comment…and I see her commenting all over the place too. THAT is a classy rock star blogger. Don’t you think?  You read Sandy? You should.

And I’m leaving you with an update on my To Do list.. (did you see Bossy copied off me and did her own to do list lol)

I spent any free minute this weekend reading …I started the Twilight series. I did NOT do anything w/ my pictures. I organized my husbands clothes and not mine. Rimmy is still MIA and Bri went out for karaoke way too late for my 41 year old body.

OK…gonna use spell check and hit publish.  I just read…I DO ramble don’t I?

26 responses »

  1. Ha! I’m totally relating to your rant. I think some of the best bloggers out there are the “undiscovered” ones. I love stumbling across someone I can relate to.

    But on the other hand, you can’t blame “rock star bloggers” for enjoying their 15 minutes of fame. I mean, honestly, who wouldn’t love to be “discovered” and to be recognized and loved for your awesome writing ability….run-on sentences and all! 🙂

    You’re a rock-star to us, Mary Pat!

  2. I can’t believe that this ad company would be concerned about run-on sentences! I never even noticed. What does that have to do with anything related to your reviewing ability?

  3. I love they way you write. You are very funny to boot! AND you have a shower I think I could kill for….
    I don’t worry about what others think. I try read a ton of blogs, and leave comments. I hear people tell me they read my blog, and I’m surprised because they’ve never commented. It’s all reciprical.
    Keep doing what you do, and maybe one year I’ll get to blogher….maybe.

  4. A to the Men sista! Slackermommy and I were talking about this the other day….I honestly never want to get “so big” that I can’t go and visit every new commenter or recognize that someone is new. I still get excited when someone new comes by…I purposefully avoid the super big ones because I want my comment to mean something just as well. I love Sandy and Jen from Playgroups are no place for children is a pretty good rock star one as well. She emails me quite frequently and responds to people in her comments as well.

    I think when people try to get to rock star status, they lose why they started blogging in the first place, and that is a shame. 🙂

  5. Woman….I SO get it. Thanks so much for the shout out. 🙂 You are the sweetest thing! I love following you. Your writing is one of the first things that immediately caught my attention. Call me crazy, but I’ve never followed any Rock Star Bloggers. I guess it’s because I like the relationships I find and can build on in the blogosphere. Once a blogger gets too big to acknowledge my existence anymore, I’m gone.

    But you’re writing is total rock star material!

  6. i could have written this myself! whenever i feel a twitch of jealously, i just remember why i started to blog in the first place. not to be famous or have 40 comments. just to put all my thoughts in one place and if someone happened to read it, great. thanks for vocalizing what i couldn’t!

  7. dang girl, how did you know I was thinking about this and thought about blogging about it.

    I don’t comment on the rock star sites..unless I’m shamelessly trying to win Pdub’s spiffy prizes.
    I don’t click over to another site to read a post..if you got a post, post it on your own stinkin blog.
    I of course admit I’ve volunteered for some reviews..that last one I so wanted to say it was not worth the money..but I was trying to be nice…plus it was free. Anyways good post!

    Grammatically challenged sisters unite!

  8. I’ve seen a few blogs that must be considered “Rock Star” blogs, if you count the number of comments.

    I’m essentially not interested. They don’t have anything different to say than anyone else and you totally miss out on that community thing that Sandy mentioned.

    I think for that reason, I am mostly interested in local bloggers…you build a community that is IN your community!

    Now there is some serious word-smithing.

  9. I totally don’t want to be a rockstar! I have to agree with you. Life is far to busy and that would be far to much responsibility and my spelling and grammar both suck!
    I appreciate the blogger friends that I’ve made and I appreciate all of their comments. I like reading about your bathroom, your mom, your puppy and the rest of your family! That’s personal and it makes me feel like I’m connected and I don’t feel so strange when I {{HUG}} you when you’re having a bad day or just cause it seems like the thing to do! I think some of the Rockstar bloggers would be really shocked if I hugged them out of the blue!
    So here’s your {{HUG}} just to say I’m sorry I’ve not been around…Life just gets in the way and I’ve got a new boss that I would love to blog about but I’m too afraid to bet DOOCED!!
    Luv Ya MP! I’ll get back around again soon! I promise!

  10. Thank you Kim. 🙂
    Exactly Kate!…and no I don’t blame anyone, I’ve actually seen people become rock stars and I don’t think they really wanted the “fame”..and their writing had to change and everything. I’m glad you like my run on sentences.
    NEIL…Now Neil is a rock star. Do you all read Neil. He is a REAL writer, once that gets paid for pulling his hair out and creating things and actually getting paid for it. Neil is a rock star that knows he’s a rock star but then again he isn’t sure he’s a rock star..there is a thing where dockers and jc penney hosed him and now he’s living w/ his mom.. you must read Neil..and as you have seen he’ll even occiasionally come visit 🙂
    No Bri YOU ARE the rock star 😛
    Grandma…that is cool though that you have lurkers. I don’t think I have any, I’ve done the shout out but no one has come forward. (Grandma J thinks I’m FUNNY!!)
    Sandy…I think I left out a million people in my story telling, I consider Sarcastic Mom rock star too..you follow her don’t you? She’s one that I don’t think reads other peoples blogs but she will email you…same w/ Ree at Hotfessional. I don’t know where the line is for Rock Star though.
    buns life…zactly! Rock Star…then I think blogging becomes blogging for our audience more than blogging about whatever the hell you feel like..personal blogs you are you own boss right?
    I’m glad you could relate miss chickbug.
    Jean I am a brain sucker and I am sucking the blogging content out of your brain so that it looks like it was MYidea…you will never be a huge rock star because I will steal your ideas..cue scary music and vampire like laughter…hhahhhaaaahhhaaaa
    Gregg…I like the local community but I also like the further away community too..more people to visit one day.
    Linda..you are one of my oldest buds…and Hugs right back at you.. I bet you are LOVING your hot tub and puppy.. I wanna chill in your hottub w/ a nice cold beer..that sounds good right now, don’t worry, I click a few times a week looking for updates.

  11. I personally have gotten away from checking stats and counting comments, for me I am way more excited aboutthe friendships I’ve made.. nowI do find my self going.. “why aren’t I hanging out with XYZ!! I’m a cool kid!!!” sometimes then I rememeber I would HAVE NO LIFE if I hung out with EVERYBODY who I like alot from bloglife..

  12. People freak out when I tell them I never check stats. That’s not why I blog. I blog to hold myself accountable in my experimental kitchen. I hated making something that turned out great and not remembering what I did, or being able to learn from my mistakes. And now, I just enjoy the community and having a place to vent, heh.

    I’ve been approached by advertisers but a blog seems to really lose a lot of authenticity to me when they start schlepping for laundry detergent. A few have managed to pull it off, like Bossy (so far). But I’ve fallen away from other sites because it gets so boring. I can’t remember the last time I read PW to be honest.

    The bloggers I enjoy have a true gift for writing, the ability to just ingeniously put thoughts into words and have people passionately identify with those words. Dooce pisses me off sometimes but I do genuinely enjoy her writing style. I’m amazed at some people’s abililites to just be so clever in their writing~ and I’m woman enough to know I just don’t have that same gift.

  13. I completely agree with you. It’s frustrating when a bloger gets so big that they don’t have time for you anymore. That’s happened to me several times. Personally, I blog because it’s an outlet for me. My own personal journal that the world can read if they choose to. If not I really don’t care. I may lead somewhat of a boring life, but it’s my boring life dangit. haha I absolutely LOVE coming to your site. You’re posts always draw me in. Even if they have a million run on sentences 😉 I think you are a Rockstar blogger in your own right. Aren’t we all?

    Oh and I just started reading the Twilight saga too and I’m in loooove with Edward! I’m only chapter 8 of the first book but it’s already sucked me in. I can’t read fast enough!

  14. Oh gah, who cares if you ramble? That is what makes this blog YOU. Ridiculous when people will critique a blog because it isn’t proper, or perfectly spell checked. Annoying!!!
    I would love to be as big as Bossy, or Dooce, or All & Sundry. Sigh. If not, I like just the way I am. 🙂

  15. Awesome post, Mary Pat. You’ve really nailed the issue, and I couldn’t agree more. Also, could NOT be more flattered at that shout-out. Honestly the nicest thing that’s happened to me in a long time!!

    This is also timely because just this morning I was thinking about why I started blogging, and checking myself to see if I’m still blogging for those reasons. It’s easy to write to readers, but less easy to write the stuff I don’t expect people to see. And that’s exactly why I started, and where I need to get back to.

    Perspective. Always a good thing.

    Also? I love your run on sentences. And I love the Twilight series. Oh, hell, I love YOU, too!

  16. I hate it when I have a bloggy friend and then they get too big and stop commenting too… makes me sad. =( But anyways….what do you think of Twilight so far??

  17. I not only have run on sentences, I have run on paragraphs. It’s funny cause I just wrote a post about this very subject. Blog for yourself, because you like it, because it does something for you or helps you in some way. If other people like it, also, great!

  18. “I think it would be alot of work first off and I’m a bit too lazy to try that hard. ”

    Yes, this is why I do not want nor need to be a Rock Star Blogger. I just think it’s work. And time. I just don’t have the inclination to work that hard!

    But I do loves reading your blog, so THERE.

  19. STOP IT! I am so not on my way to being a rock star blogger. You make me blush and fidget. My blog is way too simple for rock stardom, and I so do not have the time. But you are so nice, oh, so nice to me, and I will love you forever.

    And MP stands for Mary Pat? I never knew.

  20. In my opinion, this post alone makes you a rock star.
    I couldn’t agree more with your thoughts…being a rock star blogger means nothing to me really, it is how you feel about what you write and those people who keep coming back…people like me and the 23 people above me!

Leave a Reply

