Childhood Meme

Standard

Are we There Yet Mom tagged me for this meme about 5 years ago.

First, here are the rules:

1) Link to the person who tagged me. (I just did)

2) Mention the rules. (are these the rules)

3) Tell six quirky yet boring, unspectacular details about myself. (Me, quirky?)

4) Tag 6 other bloggers by linking to them. (I don’t wanna)

5) Go to each person’s blog and leave a comment that lets them know they’ve been tagged. (see above)

I don’t consider myself a quirky person. I thought I would tell you 6 things about my childhood.

1. My first best friend’s name was Laura. I was scared of her brothers, she lived across the street from me. We were NOT allowed to go into her house if we were wet from the pool. If we had to pee we were to sit on the edge of the galvanized pool and pee on the grass/ground. One time Laura pulled down her bottoms and pooped.

2. Any free time I would play in my back yard. I had a swingset and a cherry tree. I used to either climb or swing and sing.. One of my favorite songs to sing was “Up Up and Away in my Beautiful Balloon” or “Forever In Blue Jeans”.. (I used to think he was saying Reverened Blue Jeans).
..this was by myself…

3. I had every Barbie Accessory known to man.. or child as it was. My favorites were the three story townhouse w/ the elevator, the plane, the camper and the hot tub that pumped bubbles.

4. My first bike was red. It was a handmedown from someone. My neighbor Vince taught me how to ride, I was afraid dad would let go. Vince did too but for some reason it was OK.

5. The nextdoor neighbor Vince was also the person I allowed to pull my teeth. I still think Vince is the greatest! FYI: His granddaughter was one of Drew’s nurses when he was in the hospital.

6. I LOVED playing in the dirt. I used to imagine that I was digging for buried treasure. Our house was built in the 50’s on an old landfill. I used to find blue glass, old coins, tin cases. I really believed though I had to stop so I wouldn’t hit the Chinaman that lived on the other side.

 

Now tell me something fun about your childhood!

14 responses »

  1. I used to love digging in the dirt too. I remember one dream I used to have where there was money under the porch, and I wanted to go there and dig, but was scared of it.

  2. From my bedroom window I could watch the neighbor girl Debbie Dedee make out with her boyfriend. I wasn’t QUITE sure what they were doing. One time, my cat jumped in his car. He took off down the street…slammed on his brakes, and threw it in reverse. Morris the Lilac Point Siamese came flying out through his side window.
    One time, Debbie’s sister Diana and I ate an entire jar of dill pickle ‘chips’. We both were sick. We had never seen sliced pickles like that before.

  3. I had my barbies too..no mansion or hot tub though. I did have the remote controlled 3 wheeler that wasn’t quite remote. Barbie and Ken made out a lot..
    My best childhood friend was also Laura..you may have seen me mention “L” on the blog. I was the 4th sister and we practically lived at one or the others house. I could go on and on an on..

  4. When I was a kid we had tons of animals. My favorites were the bunnies that had free range in the backyard. They would dig dens under the patio and it would be a surprise when babies would hop out one by one. We would sit for hours behind the holes and wait, we would sit real still and pretty soon all the babies would be out and innocently hopping right next to us, then we would make our move and grab one and hold it for the next hour, the others would rush back in the den. As time went by this tamed them.

    I loved that we had so many animals and we kept on adding more all the way up to the time I left the house at 18.

  5. I had the 3-story townhouse with the elevator, too. I loooooved that house. I wanted one just like when I grew up. And then I grew up and realized I’d have to clean the damn thing, so I opted for something a bit smaller. 🙂

  6. I had the townhouse w/ elevator, the plane (loved it!), and the hot tub too! I also had the toilet that would “flush” when you closed the lid.

    My first bike was red too! I ran into a tree the first time I tried to ride it and I didn’t try again for almost two years.

    When I was 4, I was chasing a snake and it went into it’s hole. I stuck my hand into the hole before my grandpa could stop me and I pulled out a fist full of baby snakes!

    I did not get an autograph. I was too chicken to ask. If he comes in again, I’m going to see if I can get a picture taken with him. I think I’m going to tell him that my husband didn’t believe me.

    I didn’t know about the dog show. I’m not sure if I’m going to be home. My husband isn’t working tonight and I’m suppose to go to a meeting for Obama but I don’t think I will. I’m all gung ho until the actual time comes for me to do something and then I don’t want to do it.

    I don’t watch Big Brother but I do watch Shear Genius (which is awesome).

  7. Funny! I used to do the same thing digging in the dirt. When I was a kid we had a persimmon tree. My brother and I used to get people to bite into green ones just to see them pucker… like eating alum.

  8. I went to Catholic school when I was in second grade in Cranston RI. We had to walk because the bus cost money….even though our neighbor friends caught the bus. One blustery snowy day, my father was kind enough to give us a life PART WAY …but we had to leave early. The place where he dumped us was on the main road…we had to climb what seemed like a high snowy cliff or hill to get to the back side of the school..a short cut if you will. So, I get to school and take my coat off, and look down and notice Ihad lost my bow that clips on to the collar of my white blouse….the girls version of the boys tie. I was so scared of getting in trouble from the nuns, I left and wandered towards home…thinking I’d stop at this old ladies house (we called her Mudpie Marie) and she’d let me come in for a while. But our milkman saw me, and made me get in his milk truck. He took me back to school, where the nuns let me have it….then my father did later.

    Sorry if that was long.

  9. I’ve had quite a few of you …Grandma J included complain cause you had crappy icons.. I’ve changed to the patchwork quilt..everyone should be happy now 🙂

  10. You have some fun childhood memories.

    We had two plum trees in our back yard and a swingset. My brother climbed those trees all summer long, picking and eating plums until we were sick.

    One childhood memory, I loved to go camping in the Summer. My dad took us fishing. It was fun having him teach us how, but when it came to the end of the day, I thought we would let them all go, and catch them again tomorrow. Nope, surprise to me, what my dad did with them next! I don’t mind the fishing part, but don’t ask me to clean them.

    LOL! About toys and games getting expensive the older your kids get!! Isn’t that the truth!!

Leave a Reply

