‘the news of my death as been greatly exaggerated’

Standard

Mark Twain once said those words…Now I can!!

If you recall a while back an ex-coworker of mine died, very suddenly. It was very said, she was only 44 years old.

Well the new girl at this company went to visit one of my old customers..My name came up in conversation and she said, “Oh Mary Pat died, right before Thanksgiving”. So today when he met w/ Miss Slade he said, “I’m SO sorry to hear about Mary Pat”..to which she replied, “HUH”..

Slade calls me on her cell phone and says, “You better call Rich, he thought you were dead”. She told him that I was VERY much alive.

So I called him and we talked for a while, he actually spread the rumor a little more…and was going to recall my death rumors.

I’m laughing…but I’m freaking out!

7 responses »

  1. It was classic. He was visibly upset at the loss and immediately perked up when I told him the news was false.

    Hey at least you know one person that would show up to your funeral, MP.

  2. Oh my gosh. I would be really curious to find out who heard this and what their reactions were!

    That poor guy.

    -And I’m sorry, did YOU not tell me that you have NO funny conversations???! LOL!

    You could have so much fun with this… I’m thinking custom made cards with some kind of ornate lettering on the front that almost looks like a wedding invitation. Something that looks formal with your name on the front. Then on the inside put “The news of my death has been greatly exaggerated” with an explanation of what happened. -Send it to everybody. Even people who hadn’t heard this will get a kick out of it.

  3. melissa…I think I WOULD if it weren’t so “wierd”..see there were only a handful of people at my office.. one guy, my bf died of ALS, this girl I was confused with died this year (40 and 45 years old) and another girl is battling pancreatic and liver cancer (42)..so it really wouldn’t be funny to people that really knew us..although YES…I understand and appreciate the humor in it 🙂

  4. I’ve had experiences very similar to yours, (multiple friends dying, very young, within a short period of time.) I’m sorry this is happening to you and your friends right now.

    So yeah… maybe not a humorous card for all of them 😉

    In all seriousness, though, some people probably feel just as weird as you do about the mixup, and maybe even a bit guilty for (unknowingly) spreading the rumor. Some kind of card or call to the affected group of people -whether humorous or serious- might help cut through some of the awkwardness. Others may need a hug.

    Again, I really am sorry that you and your friends are going through this right now. It can be very surreal at times.

Leave a Reply

